The New York Film Festival unveils its 2022 slate, with new films from Claire Denis, Kelly Reichardt and Paul Schrader

New films from directors Claire DennisPark Chan-wook, Ruben Ostlund, Kelly Reichard and Paul Schrader will play in the 60th New York Film Festivalwhich runs from September 30 to October 16.

On Tuesday, Film at Lincoln Center, which hosts the annual celebration of cinema in Manhattan, unveiled the 32 films that make up the main slate. The lineup features films produced in 18 different countries and spotlights a mix of new and returning filmmakers.

More Variety

Several films presented for the first time at the Cannes Film Festival, including “Stars at Noon”, winner of the Grand Prix by Claire Denis, “Decision to Leave” by Park Chan-wook, “Triangle of Sadness”, winner of the Palme d’ Ruben Östlund’s gold, and Charlotte Wells’ feature debut “Aftersun” will play at the NYFF. Carla Simón’s ‘Alcarràs’, which won the Golden Bear at the 72nd Berlin Film Festival, and Shaunak Sen’s ‘All That Breathes’, which won the Sundance Film Festival’s Grand Jury Prize in the global competition of cinematographic documentaries, will also be presented at The Big Apple.

Margaret Brown, Davy Chou, Laura Citarella, Alice Diop, Mark Jenkin, Marie Kreutzer, Ryuji Otsuka and Huang Ji, and Cyril Schäublin appear on the main NYFF roster for the first time. Returning NYFF filmmakers include Todd Field, Mia Hansen-Løve, Joanna Hogg, Pietro Marcello, Cristian Mungiu, Jafar Panahi, Véréna Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Albert Serra, Jerzy Skolimowski and Frederick Wiseman.

“If there’s one takeaway from this year’s Main Slate, it’s cinema’s limitless capacity for renewal,” said New York Film Festival Artistic Director Dennis Lim. “Collectively, the films on the program suggest that this revival takes many forms: stunning debuts, veterans pulling off new tricks, filmmakers of all persuasions seeking new and surprising forms of expression and representation. We love the range and eclecticism of this group of films and are excited to share it with audiences.

As previously announced, Noah Baumbach’s “White Noise” will open the festival, Laura Poitras’ documentary “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” will be the highlight film and Elegance Bratton’s first narrative film “The Inspection” will close NYFF60. James Gray’s “Armageddon Time” will be the NYFF’s 60th anniversary screening event. Additional events, including streams, reruns, spotlights, and talks, will be announced in the coming weeks.

As part of its 60th anniversary celebration, the New York Film Festival will offer festival screenings in all five New York boroughs in partnership with Alamo Drafthouse Cinema (Staten Island), Brooklyn Academy of Music (Brooklyn), the Bronx Museum of the Arts (Bronx), Maysles Documentary Center (Harlem) and the Museum of the Moving Image (Queens). Each location will present a selection of films throughout the festival. A full list of movies and showtimes will be announced later this month.

The NYFF Main Slate selection committee, chaired by Dennis Lim, also includes Eugene Hernandez, Florence Almozini, K. Austin Collins and Rachel Rosen. Regina Riccitelli is the NYFF’s programming coordinator and Violeta Bava, Michelle Carey, Leo Goldsmith and Gina Telaroli are the festival’s advisors. Matt Bolish is the producer of NYFF.

Masks will be required for all staff, audience and filmmakers at all times in public areas. Proof of full vaccination is not required for NYFF60 audiences, but festival organizers say full vaccination is strongly recommended.

See the full range below:

Opening night

White noise

Real. Noah Baumbach

Table’s center

All the beauty and bloodshed

Real. Laura Poitras

Closing party


Real. Bratton Elegance

NYFF 60th Anniversary Celebration

armageddon time

Real. James Gray

After Sun

Real. Charlotte Wells


Real. carla simon

anything that breathes

Real. Shaunak Sen


Real. Marie Kreutzer

A Couple

Real. Frederick Wiseman

De Humani Corporis Fabrica

Real. Verena Paravel and Lucien Castaing-Taylor

Decision to leave

Real. Park Chan-wook


Real. Daisy Brown

Enys Men

Real. Marc Jenkins


Real. Jerzy Skolimowski

The Eternal Daughter

Real. Joanna Hogg

master gardener

Real. Paul Schrader

no bear

Real. Jafar Panahi

The novelist’s film

Real. Hong Sangso

A nice morning

Real. Mia Hansen – Love


Real. Albert Serra


Real. Christian Mungiu

Return to Seoul

Real. Davy Chou

Saint Omer

Real. Alice Diop


Real. Pierre Marcello

To show up

Real. Kelly Reichard

The stars at noon

Real. Claire Dennis

Stone wall

Real. Huang Ji and Ryuji Otsuka


Real. Todd Field

Trenque Lauquen

Real. Laura Citarelle

triangle of sadness

Real. Ruben Ostlund


Real. Cyril Schaublin

To go up

Real. Hong Sangso

The best of variety

Register for Variety Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitterand instagram.

Click here to read the full article.

Alfonso E. Cramer